Skip to main content

Meridian Hills Country Club
Indianapolis, Indiana
Saturday, November 5, 2011

Submitted by Robert H. Everitt

More than eighty members and guests of the Society of Indiana Pioneers met on Saturday, November 5, 2011, at Meridian Hills Country Club in Indianapolis for the 96th Annual Meeting. Members greeted one another and inspected the interesting array of items that Chairman Louise DeMore and her hard-working committee had gathered for sale at the Society’s fourth annual silent auction, the theme this year being “All Things Indiana.”

Co-President Carolyn Rose opened the meeting with a remarkable story of Lucy Jane Ray Hancock (1828-1929) who was a true Indiana pioneer. Co-President Stanley Evans then joined Mrs. Rose in summarizing the year’s activities: the advertising initiative reached thousands of Hoosiers to raise awareness of the Society and the Indiana Founders program, the DVD project is ongoing under the leadership of Michael Miller to provide an informational tool for use by Speakers Bureau volunteers and organizations throughout the state. Guests David Cook and Bradford Mintener presented a most interesting introduction to Mintener’s pioneer ancestor, Senator Albert White (1803-1864).

The membership elected the following members to the Board of Governors:

For a one-year term expiring in 2012:

Dr. Mary Alice Hines, Indianapolis
For three-year terms expiring in 2014:

Martha Sue Batt, Indianapolis
Maxine Fosta Brown*, Corydon
Jan Aikman Dickson, Carmel
Robert W. Dora*, Noblesville
Roberta R. Graham, Brownsburg
Robert D. Rati, Carmel
Karen Ward, Monticello

*Elected to serve a second successive term.

Newly Elected Board Members: (left to right) Maxine Brown, Dr. Mary Alice Hines, Karen Ward, Robert D. Rati, Roberta R. Graham, Martha Sue Batt, Jan Aikman Dickson, Robert Dora

The Board elected the following as officers of the Society for one-year terms:

Carolyn A. Rose and Stanley R. Evans, Co-Presidents
Michael H. Miller, Vice President/President-elect
Robert H. Everitt, Secretary
Bruce W. Oakley, Treasurer
Marcia Ahrens Krieg, Registrar
Joan R. Everitt, Yearbook Editor

2012 Officers: (left to right) Carolyn Rose & Stanley Evans, Co-Presidents;  Marcia Krieg, Registrar; Bob Everitt, Secretary; Joan Everitt, Yearbook Editor; Bruce Oakley, Treasurer; Michael Miller, Vice-President/President-Elect. Not pictured: Thomas P. Ewbank, Past President

A highlight of the meeting was a musical presentation by four very talented young women, the Williams Sisters, from Greentown, Indiana.  Their program was a carefully researched and professionally executed program of music of the early pioneer period, including such well-known pieces as Turkey in the Straw (1820s), Rock of Ages (1830), I Sing the Mighty Power of God (1784), and many others. Titled “A Musical Week in the Life of an Imaginary Indiana Pioneer Family”, their program received an appreciative standing ovation at its conclusion. The sisters are the granddaughters of former Society President Allen Moore.

The Williams Sisters

Awards Chairman Dr. James Fadely announced that the Board of Governors had approved granting an Honorary Membership to Dr. James H. Madison, noted author and the Thomas and Kathryn Miller Professor Emeritus of History at Indiana University Bloomington. Professor Madison will be the ninth Honorary Membership awarded in our 96-year history. It will be presented at a reception in his honor on Thursday, April 12, 2012.

After a PowerPoint presentation of the highly successful 2011 Pilgrimages to Vincennes and Brown County by Pilgrimage Chair Nelson Price, Louise DeMore announced the Silent Auction’s final results, which netted approximately $1,200.

Following tradition, the meeting was adjourned by the singing of “Back Home Again in Indiana.”