Skip to main content

Meridian Hills Country Club
Indianapolis, Indiana
Saturday, November 6, 2010

Submitted by Robert H. Everitt

More than eighty members and guests of the Society of Indiana Pioneers met on Saturday, November 6, at Meridian Hills Country Club in Indianapolis for the 95th Annual Meeting. Among those attending were the Society’s youngest Life Members, six-year-old Hayden and Isaac Miller, twin sons of Kay and Michael Miller. Members greeted one another and inspected the interesting array of items that Chairman Louise DeMore and her hard-working committee had gathered for sale at the Society’s third annual silent auction.

In a State of the Society report, Co-Presidents Carolyn Rose and Stanley Evans related a plan to move the Society forward which was adopted enthusiastically by the Board at its meeting in June. The plan put forth three initiatives: (1) promote the Society through press releases and advertisements in local newspapers throughout the state; (2) develop a program to identify and honor distinguished Pioneer Founders in each of the 92 counties to be completed by our centennial year in 2016; and (3) produce a DVD telling the story of the Society which could be used by Speakers Bureau volunteers and made available to libraries and historical and genealogical groups throughout the state.

Catherine Carvey and other volunteers were commended for the increased activity of the Speakers Bureau, and it was noted that the Society was well represented at the Midwest Roots Conference in August and the Genealogy and Family History Conference in October.

Genealogist/Office Manager Michele Kerr reported on her work in the Society’s office, noting that she had approved 37 new member applications and 115 added lines since the last report. She expressed appreciation for the contributions made to support the preservation of applications and proofs and reported that the scanning of applications and proofs continues as time and resources permit.

The membership elected the following members to the Board of Governors:

For one-year terms expiring in 2011:

Martha Sue Batt
Ralph D. Gray

For three-year terms expiring in 2013:

Jeffrey K. Baldwin
Louise T. DeMore*
Helen M. Dickinson
Terri L. Gorney
Marilyn H. Hoffman*
Edward L. Hultgren, Jr.
Evaline H. Rhodehamel

*Elected to serve a second successive term.

New Society Board Members: Seated (left to right): Martha Susan Batt, Terri Gorney, Helen Dickinson Standing (left to right): Jeffrey Baldwin, Jinsie Bingham, Edward Hultgren

The Board elected the following as officers of the Society for one-year terms:

Carolyn A. Rose and Stanley R. Evans, Co-Presidents
Marcia A. Krieg, Vice President/President-elect
Robert H. Everitt, Secretary
Bruce W. Oakley, Treasurer
Michael H. Miller, Registrar
Joan R. Everitt, Yearbook Editor

2011 Society Officers: Seated (left to right): Joan Everitt, Yearbook Editor; Stanley Evans & Carolyn Rose, Co-Presidents Standing (left to right): Bruce Oakley, Treasurer; Bob Everitt, Secretary

In a special presentation, Dr. Jim Fadely called Joan and Bob Everitt forward to receive the Indiana Pioneers Medallions for 2010. This award, to be presented biennially, was created in 2008 to recognize exemplary service to the Society. Evie Rhodehamel received the inaugural award in 2008. Etched crystal medallions were presented to Mr. and Mrs. Everitt.

Bob and Joan Everitt receive their Indiana Pioneers Medallions from Dr. Jim Fadely.

Jennifer Roman, winner of the 2010 Society of Indiana Pioneers fellowship, presented a most interesting paper on her research into the role that various denominations played in the development of educational institutions in the state during the pioneer period. Jennifer is a doctoral candidate at the University of Notre Dame.

Following a picture presentation of the 2010 Pilgrimages to Corydon and Indianapolis by Pilgrimage Chair Nelson Price, Louise DeMore announced the Silent Auction’s final results, which netted nearly $1,100. Every person attending received a complimentary coffee mug bearing the logo and mission of the Society of Indiana Pioneers provided by Carolyn Rose and Stanley Evans.

Following tradition, the meeting was adjourned by the singing of “Back Home Again in Indiana,” led this year by the Miller family – Kay, Michael, Hayden, and Isaac.