Spring Pilgrimage 2018

Hoosier Heritage Spring Pilgrimage 2018
Willkie Home, Covered Bridges, Historic Mansions and More
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Rushville and Aurora, Indiana

Join us for a Spring Pilgrimage to southeastern Indiana that will feature a visit to the Civil War-era Rushville home where Wendell Willkie lived during his rollicking 1940 presidential campaign against FDR; his grandson, David Willkie, will be our host. The trip also will include visits to the picturesque town of Aurora and to two famous mansions perched on bluffs overlooking the Ohio River: ornate Hillforest and Veraestau, a portion of which dates to 1810. Historic reenactors and musicians periodically will greet us during the day, which also will include a visit to – and presentations about – covered bridges in Rush County.

Still room available on this pilgrimage! Registration deadline is January 31, 2018. Click here to download the registration form.

For more details, visit the "Events" page.

Pioneer Founders of Indiana Centennial Book Now Available

To honor the centennial of The Society of Indiana Pioneers and the bicentennial of the State of Indiana, the Society is offering this publication. The Pioneer Founders of Indiana book project is the culmination of five years of soliciting biographical sketches of pioneers from all 92 counties across Indiana. This is a Legacy Project endorsed by the Indiana Bicentennial Commission. Order your copy today. Proceeds go to The Society of Indiana Pioneers.

The book order form is available here.

Order your copy of Deep Forest: A Novel of the Indiana Frontier today

To honor the bicentennial of Indiana and centennial of The Society of Indiana Pioneers, the Society sponsored the publication of a “lost historical novel” by a former leader of the Society. Attorney and historian Emsley W. Johnson, Sr. was Society president from 1940 to 1946. This intriguing story draws on experiences of his ancestors and relates challenges and triumphs of settlers between 1811 and 1861.

To learn more, visit the "Store" page or download an order form here.

John H. Holliday Junior Award

The Society of Indiana Pioneers John H. Holliday Junior Award was established by The Society of Indiana Pioneers in 1970 to honor Mr. Holliday, the founding President. The award is given annually to a school club or class or similar organization. To be considered for the $500.00 cash award, groups must complete an application form describing a project, program or activity related to early Indiana history planned for the upcoming school year.

For more information, visit our "Junior Award" page.

Learn About the Society With Our Video!

Our thirteen-minute long video tells the story of the Society of Indiana Pioneers, including detailed information about our major goals and projects. You can watch the entire video here, and segments also appear on this site's pages where appropriate. All of the videos are available on our new "Video" page as well.

We hope you enjoy this video look at the Society's past, present and future!

About the Society

In 1915, the Indiana General Assembly created the Indiana Historical Commission which led the planning, preparation and conduct of the celebration of Indiana's Centennial. Local Centennial committees were organized throughout Indiana. John Hampden Holliday, publisher of The Indianapolis News, was the chairman of the Indianapolis committee.

Sometime during the weeks of Centennial celebration, Mr. Holliday came upon the notion of organizing a society composed of people who were descendants of the early settlers of Indiana, the pioneers who opened the State to civilization, thereafter discussing, promoting and planning it with family, friends and acquaintances. On September 15, 1916, Mr. Holliday and a considerable number of people met to hear the report of a planning committee and its presentation of a proposed constitution that was adopted by those attending. In a subsequent order of business Mr. Holliday was elected the first President, a position he held until his death in 1921.

Today, there are four classes of membership available to those persons interested in the goals of the Society: Regular, Junior, Associate and Honorary. More information on becoming a member of The Society of Indiana Pioneers is available on the Join the Society page.

Details on the benefits of membership and services available to Society members is on the Benefits page.

A list of currently available books and other items are shown on the Publications page.

The Society cooperates with the Indiana Historical Society, the Indiana Junior Historical Society, and other historical organizations. Over the years the Society has engaged in various projects. Present membership is about 1,200.

From the Society's office at 140 North Senate Avenue in downtown Indianapolis, we strive to serve our membership and continue to celebrate the rich Indiana Pioneer heritage that we share.


Society Officers & Staff

Dr. Charles F. Bragg, Fishers
Vice President/President-Elect
Julie H. NewhouseRushville
Robert H. Everitt, Indianapolis
Bruce W. Oakley, Indianapolis
Marcia A. KriegIndianapolis
Yearbook Editor
Joan R. Everitt, Indianapolis
Immediate Past President
Dr. James P. Fadely, Indianapolis
Michele Kerr, Carmel
Office Manager
Sally Fadely, Indianapolis

Board of Governors

Hometown and year of term expiration follows each name.
Ann Boggs BaderOxford, Ohio 2018
Janet L. BarbIndianapolis 2019
Martha G. BarnhartChurubusco 2018
Jinsie Scott BinghamGreencastle 2019
Roberta R. CaitoIndianapolis 2020
Dr. Robert E. ClementsIndianapolis 2019
J. David CookIndianapolis 2018
Helen M. DickinsonIndianapolis 2020
Hon. Thomas G. FisherIndianapolis 2019
Terri L. GorneyFort Wayne 2020
John K. Herder, Sr.Indianapolis 2019
Dr. Gregory P. HinshawFarmland 2018
Jeanie Pike HornungNew Palestine 2019
Sen. Eric Allan KochBedford 2020
Dr. Ronald V. MorrisCenterville 2020
Andrea D. NealIndianapolis 2019
A. Andrew Olson, IIIMarco Island, Fla. 2018
J. Nelson PriceIndianapolis 2018
William A. RhodehamelBrownsburg 2018
Eric N. WardCambridge, Mass. 2020
David R. YeleyColumbus 2020
This page last updated on Friday, January 12, 2018 .
© 2017 The Society of Indiana Pioneers.
Contact Yearbook Editor Joan R. Everitt with comments or questions about this site.
Design & hosting by Kephart + Associates.